THAW opening problem.

Discuss modding in thaw. If you want to make something by yourself you can ask how to in here. Also, you can post any thaw related mod in here.
th0masTHPS
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:22 pm
Contact:

THAW opening problem.

Postby th0masTHPS » Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:38 pm

I dled the ripped version of thaw and ran Registry, Installer, and all that. Went to the game folder and went to THAW THPS Aspyr Media, Inc. file and it goes full screen, a black screen, then closes down. Also, when I open the Launcher, and configure it to my liking, I press save and play and it says THAW failed to initialize: The specified file was not found. Help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
cWalker
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby cWalker » Sun Jul 25, 2010 4:19 pm

so? did u check directX?
th0masTHPS
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby th0masTHPS » Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:45 pm

Yes. And I even have new drivers.. I will attempt to open it again. Edits will be made when done... in the middle of some THUG2 setup a the moment.

EDIT: The problem persists. Still black screen and close, but as far as the launcher issue, it now says "The directory name is invalid."

In other news.... THUG2 works. :clap:
Eraser
Site Admin
Posts: 897
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:42 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby Eraser » Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:42 pm

Well for some reason ripped version had a black screen and full version didn't for me. Just saying.
th0masTHPS
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby th0masTHPS » Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:57 pm

Eraser wrote:Well for some reason ripped version had a black screen and full version didn't for me. Just saying.

Ah. Well i really don't want to download all 6 thaw discs, so I went to the torrent. When it opens up my Limewire, it doesn't make any progress- like at all. I waited a long time and it doesn't do anything.
th0masTHPS
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby th0masTHPS » Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:29 pm

Bump :help
Eraser
Site Admin
Posts: 897
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:42 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby Eraser » Tue Jul 27, 2010 7:56 am

If you downloaded torrent from this site, it must work. I just tried, there are 44 peers and 8 of them are seeders. Also, don't use limewire for torrenting, try BitTorrent or uTorrent. Also there also may be a problem if a firewall blocks one of these programs (including limewire) or if the ports are closed.
th0masTHPS
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby th0masTHPS » Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:20 pm

I did it but I don't get any of this shit how am I supposed to mount the image of the CDs if there isn't even an image and it's just a bunch of winrar and other files. There's nothing to mount in anything of those folders. :wtf?:
Eraser
Site Admin
Posts: 897
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:42 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby Eraser » Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:39 am

It depends if you used torrent to download thaw DVD or not torrents to download 6 CD's. The image is .iso file. You mount it.
Active
Posts: 506
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:07 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby Active » Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:43 am

The RiP version works on my netbook so i don't think it has something to do with the hardware...
btw i had a similar problem too and simply renamed the THAW folder and it worked Oo
th0masTHPS
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby th0masTHPS » Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:42 pm

Eraser wrote:It depends if you used torrent to download thaw DVD or not torrents to download 6 CD's. The image is .iso file. You mount it.

I used the torrent. I don't get it... when i open Daemon Tools Lite and go to +file I click CD 1 folder and nothing in there shows up to be mounted.. and are you supposed to burn them at all? To CD's right?

@Active: That doesn't seem to make much sense if you had the same problem as me.. I might try it again.
Eraser
Site Admin
Posts: 897
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:42 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby Eraser » Wed Jul 28, 2010 10:43 pm

You have to choose to mount (When you created a virtual device. Just google this.
th0masTHPS
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby th0masTHPS » Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:30 pm

OK I got it and I mounted CD1's BIN file. But when I unzipped CD 2 when it finishes it says the file is unknown format or damaged, and then there's no BIN file in the folder it creates. And it ONLY happens with disc 2. What to do, what to do...
Eraser
Site Admin
Posts: 897
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:42 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby Eraser » Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:05 pm

re-download disc2.
th0masTHPS
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW opening problem.

Postby th0masTHPS » Thu Jul 29, 2010 10:56 pm

Eraser wrote:re-download disc2.

Oh duh. but I got the torrent and I was just wondering if it made a difference.

Return to “THAW modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest