THPS Proto/Beta thread - THPS1 DC Beta

Post your hi-scores, videos, questions, talk about Tony Hawk games.
Forum rules
No talking about modding in this forum.
MrCarter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby MrCarter » Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:56 pm

Demo wrote:
MrCarter wrote:I have a copy of THPS2 feat FIN.KL made for South Korea if anyone is interested.

Spoken about here: http://thps-mods.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1057


sure we are!


Uploaded here: http://www.mediafire.com/download/pt17gtge2z1s6vg/mrcarter-thps2kr.rar
OR here: https://mega.nz/#!OEUCQYJS!eyKHapF0U7FA ... dcVy5nCIGI

Password is

Code: Select all

http://thps-mods.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=1057


PM Eraser if links are down

Please note the ISO can be considered a 'rip' and not 1:1. I only have a CD-R copy on hand and I recovered that disc by cleaning it and then ripping the game to ISO with dd_rescue (with default settings). The missing part of the disc is the copy protection 'audio' track that would normally be present (which you can see on the normal PC version). This does not affect gameplay as the crack is included on the ISO and thus the copy protection mechanism is not necessary. Tested the game with Windows XP in VirtualBox and it installed and played no issue once the crack was applied. The Win2K patch is probably not necessary (do not use unless you think you absolutely need to).

Luckily, the US version cracked EXE works. But it would be nice to get a proper crack for this. Original US release by FAiRLiGHT http://www.nfohump.com/index.php?switch ... o&id=73942 and according to it the copy protection is CDilla v2. One of these tools might do it: http://gf.wiretarget.com/safedisc.htm (will probably try later)

  • Mount/burn ISO
  • Install as normal (recommend full installation)
  • Copy cracked THawk2.exe to installation directory
  • Run game

I'm currently looking for the original disc so I can make a 1:1. It is around here somewhere buried deep.
Demo
Posts: 483
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby Demo » Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:38 pm

Awesome! Thanks for the contribution!
That soundtrack...
However I checked the cracked exe and it did it well, until level loading. Game just shuts down without any error.
I tried the eng nocd and it worked flawlessly, except the fact that it mostly turns it into regular thps2 without additional characters.
MrCarter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby MrCarter » Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:10 am

Demo wrote:Awesome! Thanks for the contribution!
That soundtrack...
However I checked the cracked exe and it did it well, until level loading. Game just shuts down without any error.
I tried the eng nocd and it worked flawlessly, except the fact that it mostly turns it into regular thps2 without additional characters.


Now I'm really wondering how I achieved those Wine screenshots back in 2005 especially considering there is no real support for any copy protection in Wine.

Also, unfortunately none of the unwrappers worked unless someone has a Windows 98 machine that can run that v2 of the CDilla decrypter. However, something tells me that will also require the copy protection data to do its work.

It might be possible to take the junk data from THPS2 retail (audio track 1, disc track 2) and put it to this ISO and it would make the EXE think everything is fine. Seems unlikely but I think it is worth a try.

This too: http://search.lores.eu/protec/blackche.htm . I run Linux but I have a number of XP virtual machines I can try this method with, or if someone else can give it a try that would be great. Probably replace W32Dasm with OllyDbg and also add IDA Pro to the mix (probably replace SoftICE; my copy of SoftICE from long ago is for Windows 98).
MrCarter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby MrCarter » Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:13 am

Demo wrote:Awesome! Thanks for the contribution!
That soundtrack...
However I checked the cracked exe and it did it well, until level loading. Game just shuts down without any error.
I tried the eng nocd and it worked flawlessly, except the fact that it mostly turns it into regular thps2 without additional characters.


Forgot to ask, does the music change?
Demo
Posts: 483
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby Demo » Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:47 am

soundtrack does change, but i expect korean version has extended amount of tracks in exe, which is more than default 15. probably 24.
so first 9 tracks are new and the rest is the beginning of the original soundtrack.

i may hex the eng exe to let's say link secret skaters to new models, though it's not a way to go.
the junk data replacement may work, but the chances are low indeed.
unfortunately i'm on win7, so i most likely won't be able to test that as well...

edit: though i tried to mess with debugger and guess what, i'm able to run menu now and i see new skaters, but at level select it asks for cd again
MrCarter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby MrCarter » Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:38 am

I opened up the EXE with PEiD (a very old application but applicable because this EXE is very old too), and it appears to have been compiled with MSVC6 with debug mode enabled (does not necessarily means it has debug symbols).

This might mean the check for CD is just a dumb check, not a real copy protection at all. It might still be checking for that audio track however.

What this means also is that the removal of this check might be a simple JMP across the MessageBox call (or by setting a certain value to always return true, probably a IOCTL call).

Doing more testing.
MrCarter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby MrCarter » Wed Jul 17, 2013 9:44 am

So I removed the checks for CD, and it seems like it's a D3D error that is occuring for me in Wine and in my virtual machine.

Pretty sure at this point it's the lack of the audio track. This is what Wine shows when running the game tracing for mci calls:

Code: Select all

trace:mci:mciSendCommandA (00000000, MCI_OPEN, 00003302, 0032f708)
trace:mci:mciSendCommandW (00000000, MCI_OPEN, 00003302, 0019eb44)
trace:mci:MCI_Open (00003302, 0x19eb44)
trace:mci:MCI_Open devType=L"cdaudio" !
trace:mci:MCI_Open lpstrElementName=L"D:"
trace:mci:MCI_LoadMciDriver wDevID=0001
trace:mci:mciSetDriverData (0001, 00191588)
trace:mci:MCI_LoadMciDriver Loaded driver 0x1916c8 (L"CDAUDIO"), type is 516, cmdTable=0000ffff
trace:mci:MCI_LoadMciDriver mcidev=1, uDevTyp=0204 wDeviceID=0001 !
trace:mci:mciGetDriverData (0001)
trace:mci:MCI_Open wDevID=0001 wDeviceID=1 dwRet=0
trace:mci:mciSendCommandW => 00000000
trace:mci:mciSendCommandA (00000001, MCI_SET, 00000400, 0032f6c4)
trace:mci:mciSendCommandW (00000001, MCI_SET, 00000400, 0032f6c4)
trace:mci:mciGetDriverData (0001)
trace:mci:mciSendCommandW => 00000000
trace:mci:mciSendCommandA (00000001, MCI_STATUS, 00000100, 0032f6d0)
trace:mci:mciSendCommandW (00000001, MCI_STATUS, 00000100, 0032f6d0)
trace:mci:mciGetDriverData (0001)
fixme:mcicda:MCICDA_GetError Unknown mode 1
trace:mci:mciSendCommandW => 00000110
trace:mci:mciSendCommandA (00000001, MCI_CLOSE, 00000000, 00000000)
trace:mci:mciSendCommandW (00000001, MCI_CLOSE, 00000000, 00000000)
trace:mci:MCI_Close (0001, 00000000, (nil))
trace:mci:mciGetDriverData (0001)
trace:mci:mciGetDriverData (0001)
fixme:mountmgr:harddisk_ioctl Unsupported ioctl 24008 (device=2 access=1 func=2 method=0)
trace:mci:mciGetDriverData (0001)
trace:mci:mciSetDriverData (0001, 00000000)
trace:mci:mciGetDriverData (ffffffff)
warn:mci:mciGetDriverData Bad uDeviceID
trace:mci:mciSendCommandW => 00000000


This is right before the exit after picking a level and when the game is supposed to start.
MrCarter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby MrCarter » Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:26 am

Got it cracked! Try out the crack: http://www.mediafire.com/download/p6li5 ... racked.rar
BACKUP link: http://thps-mods.com/forumfilesbackup/T ... racked.rar


Few modifications. The main change was the second check on the disc (which occurs right before the game starts a level). It was the MCI calls to check the audio track which set some kind of global that triggers the message and then an exit.

Only missed one spot where it checks at exit on the disc again. I don't think this really bothers any-one but I will find this check and remove it ASAP. As for now, the game should be able to run. Please post a screenshot.

KKeJyrj.png
KKeJyrj.png (72.13 KiB) Viewed 1668 times

PK3lup7.png
PK3lup7.png (247.52 KiB) Viewed 1668 times
MrCarter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby MrCarter » Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:40 am

Final crack (exit CD check removed): http://www.mediafire.com/download/zdt06 ... -final.rar
BACKUP link: http://thps-mods.com/forumfilesbackup/T ... -final.rar

Please let me know if this works. I only tested it in Wine and can only semi-test on the Windows XP box as VirtualBox isn't that great yet at old 3D (this game uses DX7 and 16-bit).
Demo
Posts: 483
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby Demo » Wed Jul 17, 2013 2:50 pm

Great job, works just fine.
actually this is the same as thps3 "protection", but there you just need 1 jmp to bypass the check.
so it's even more advanced, hehe

Image
Last edited by Demo on Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MrCarter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby MrCarter » Wed Jul 17, 2013 6:30 pm

Now if only we could get it to run stably at high resolution. Is it possible to do this?
MrCarter
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:14 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby MrCarter » Wed Jul 17, 2013 7:58 pm

Demo wrote:do you mean to change menu resolution?


Yes. For me in Wine the maximum resolution is 1024x768
Demo
Posts: 483
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby Demo » Wed Jul 17, 2013 10:30 pm

well, it is the max that it allows to draw.
i thought you meant to stretch the menu, so it doesn't jump to top-left corner in Wine.

don't think anyone ever tried to patch it for higher resolutions.
LedIris
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 4:28 pm
Contact:

Re: The THPS Beta hunt thread!

Postby LedIris » Fri Jul 19, 2013 6:43 am

Not quite the right thread for this. But that is still pretty freaking sweet. :)

Return to “General thps talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests