Page 5 of 9

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:29 pm
by Demo
http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/dinput.7z

Need some testing here with experimental xinput support, aka your xbox 360 controller.
povs are working, LT/RT have corresponding actions binded.

start + back (which is select on ps) will quit the game immediately (hello tekken)
R3 is binded to skip track.

now keep in mind that default directinput is not disabled, so you'll have to dummy out the values in your config file.
find this in TH2_OPT.CFG and change every action to -1

Code: Select all

[JOYPAD]
JUMP=-1

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 2:11 am
by Catar4x
Work very well like described, will only say that there is no camera support with the right analog stick (CAMERA=-1).

Little bug notified : Track title of "The High & Mighty" display an incorrect caracter for "&".

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 5:14 pm
by Demo
Catar4x wrote:Work very well like described, will only say that there is no camera support with the right analog stick (CAMERA=-1).

Little bug notified : Track title of "The High & Mighty" display an incorrect caracter for "&".


that's not right stick camera control. it toggles between near/far camera and it's back/select on the gamepad.

basically there is no & in that font. there are no brackets as well.

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:58 pm
by taufan99
I've done what the instructions tell me, but the patch is still not working. Maybe I need to have a physical CD-ROM or something else can be done?

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2016 2:31 pm
by Catar4x
Use smaller exe and admin compatibility.

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:41 am
by UWbadgers16
I can't seem to get the music to play. I keep getting these errors in the log:

XAPLAY WAS CALLED 0 0
ASSERT!: H:\TonyHawk\Pc2\video.cpp(1542): sound too large
MusicThread stopped...

Stopping Music...

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:36 pm
by ThAEm
Hey I wonder... When I try to convert my own bik files and put them into THPS2, they don't work. It's just silence in-game. I wanna know if I'm missing something or doing something wrong.

P.S. I tried RAD Video Tools version 2.6c/1.100c (pretty recent version) as well as 1.9d/1.200c on Win10.

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:32 pm
by Demo
set compress level to 100

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:47 am
by UWbadgers16
Demo wrote:set compress level to 100


Are you referring to my question about not hearing any music on the bik files that someone else posted? I can't find anywhere to set the compress level.

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:51 am
by Demo
are you trying to convert your own music or you can't play original tracks?
the option is there at the bottom set at 4 on this screenshot.

Image

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:57 pm
by ThAEm
Demo wrote:set compress level to 100

Thanks, Demo. The cust tracks are working now.
However, when doing so, it makes the music mono, but that shouldn't be much of a problem, to be honest.

Also, going a bit off-topic, I noticed that when music is converted with a 100 compress level, it just gives little compression to the quality and makes it mono, but when set to 99, it becomes pure noise. I just find that weird.

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:56 am
by UWbadgers16
Demo wrote:are you trying to convert your own music or you can't play original tracks?
the option is there at the bottom set at 4 on this screenshot.


I'm trying to play the original tracks.

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 12:46 pm
by Demo
ThAEm wrote:However, when doing so, it makes the music mono, but that shouldn't be much of a problem, to be honest.

tbh 100 doesn't even looks like a valid quality level, but the only one that works. the fact that original tracks are so much smaller gave me idea to try lower frequencies, and guess what? if you convert at 22050, it will be stereo. so random.

UWbadgers16 wrote:I'm trying to play the original tracks.

when you change tracks, do you see SKIP TRACK: <some number> or --- instead?
sound too large message appears even when a valid track is loaded, so it doesn't mean much.

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:31 am
by UWbadgers16
Demo wrote:
UWbadgers16 wrote:I'm trying to play the original tracks.

when you change tracks, do you see SKIP TRACK: <some number> or --- instead?
sound too large message appears even when a valid track is loaded, so it doesn't mean much.


It stays at "---"

Re: [THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 3:27 pm
by Demo
UWbadgers16 wrote:It stays at "---"

do you use th2patchlauncher.exe? if you do, try to relaunch it several times.