[THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

General discussion about modding in all thps games.
Demo
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

[THPS2][PC] Cumulative patch (Widescreen, FPS unlock, etc.)

Postby Demo » Thu Apr 14, 2016 1:35 am

Image

This cumulative patch allows you to run THPS2 at a modern widescreen resolution in 32 bits color depth without FPS limit (locked at your display frequency). Additionally you can apply various fixes through the launcher.

Previews: 1920x1080, 1920x1200, 2048x1536, [1080p video preview]

Download: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/th2patch_v3rc2.7z

Experimental xinput support: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/dinput.7z
(you'll have to edit cfg, changing all joy input values to -1)

Virustotal scans: th2patchlauncher.exe, dinput.dll

Instructions:
- download the patch
- download smaller exe: http://thmods.com/mods/THPS2%20Mods/thps_smaller_exe_setup.zip
- extract/install both in your game folder
- rename THawk2_smaller.exe to THawk2.exe. You can either backup or delete the original exe.
- use th2patchlauncher.exe to change options and launch the game
- you can create a shortcut to the launcher on your desktop with -F key to skip the launcher window

Note: your user must have the rights to write and modify THPS2 folder (or you can launch it as admin)

Known bugs
- main menu wheel is missing on resolutions higher than 640x480
- level sounds are messed up (especially in MHPB and THPS3 levels)
- second FMV after you beat Bullring level in career crashes the game. Either beat this level on vanilla exe, or rename vids folder, beat the game, save, then rename back.
- launcher option for ambient sound doesn't work properly. It keeps restarting ambient track every second or so. Not really noticable, but still.
- if you don't have any tracks in your music folder (for example ripped version) and music is not turned off, different track titles will keep spawning on screen. Turn music off to fix that.

***
Everything below is optional and totally not required, but strongly recommended.

For custom levels you'll need these downloads (will merge this in a single pack later):
[THPS3 preview][THPS4 preview][MHPB preview]

LevelPack: http://thps-mods.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1041
MHPB levels: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/mhpb_files.7z
skil patch: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/skil_obj.7z
Park editor themes: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/parked.7z
Additional skater skins: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/skaters.7z

* everything above should be in your data folder

Additionaly you might want to use this:
Better textures for downtown, roswell, school: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/textures2x.7z [Roswell preview]

***
Older versions (you don't really need those):
V1: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/th2patch.7z
V2: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/th2patch_v2.7z
V2.1: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/th2patch_v21.7z
V3prev: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/th2patch_v3prev.7z
V3prev2: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/th2patch_v3prev2.7z
v3prev3rc: http://levelmod.webatu.com/misc/th2patch_v3prev3rc.7z

Version history:

v1 comment:
RIght now it's a really dirty version, I just write the values in memory in an endless loop, so it will eat up one of your cores/threads. don't launch more than 1 instance at the same time since it will just devour your cpu. At some point it may randomly lose the focus on the game. You'll have to restart both game and patch exe if that happens. For some reason it never happens on my laptop, but often bugs me on another pc. Patch should work with both nocd and smaller exe since their memory layout is same. didn't test on finkl and french exe, those probably won't work.[

If you have Levelpack files, you can use the dropdown list to pick the game you want. Only changes levels and level names. TH3 also adds few skater skins. Don't pick the last one, won't work anyways :P Button does nothing. At least if you don't have Test Drive 5 running.

v2 comment:
Rewrote aspect ratio code so now only have to be patched once at the beginning.
Added options.ini file where you can edit your settings. Includes resolution, FOV, toggles for 32bpp and fps lock, game selector for Levelpack.

v2.1 comment:
fixed some level names, fixed auto aspect ratio a bit, it was wrong in previous one, added missing files to launch skater island, added level icons for th1 and th3, added gaps for th1 and th3. don't use gap checklist menu in those games, it crashes. pretty much hardcoded stuff.

v3 comment:
modified the patch in a form of launcher, doesn't require bat file anymore (use -F key to skip the setup window). added higher-res icon. added userpatch support for custom patches. added [GLOBAL] section. Added mhpb levels support.

v3rc comment:
added proxy DLL, added custom soundtrack support, song title is printed on the screen, th4 levels teleports are working now.
Last edited by Demo on Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:20 pm, edited 24 times in total.
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby WhoElseButMe » Thu Apr 14, 2016 4:24 am

nice
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
Unn
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby Unn » Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:45 am

I have a 144hz screen, I could see if it works but
1. the game loads main menu just fine and in low res
2. crashes when loading a map
holy shit why are old games so complicated
i have that weird version from the thps download thread

edit: nevermind i didnt read the whole post
Demo
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby Demo » Sun Apr 17, 2016 1:14 am

Unn wrote:I have a 144hz screen, I could see if it works but
i have that weird version from the thps download thread

edit: nevermind i didnt read the whole post

Well I guess you can just get smaller exe, since all the files are there in finkl version it should work.
http://thmods.com/mods/THPS2%20Mods/thp ... _setup.zip
Unn
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby Unn » Sun Apr 17, 2016 1:53 pm

Aight
1. the game runs at 144 fps, ultra smooth
2. inputs in menus are very quick
3. objects like barrels in hangar are weird, they go off super fast if you kick them, same with glass
4. the character model feels really shakey for some reason
but yeah its all caused because of the high fps
everything else works just fine, very playable and everything

also vehicles like that cart in school 2 work fine
Demo
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby Demo » Mon Apr 18, 2016 7:21 pm

version 2, added options.ini. doesn't require to hang in background anymore.
_ENunn_
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:21 am
Location: Providence, KY, USA
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby _ENunn_ » Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:42 am

Works great! The only problem I have now is that border bug. Got a new computer a week or two ago and got th2 on it and now the border bug returned. Other than that, great job! Excellent work!

Edit: Oh for fucks sakes. Its not working anymore. Goes into low res and then high res then closes. :/
ENunn: Tony Hawk player, YouTuber, singer (kinda), actor (kinda), Fake Radio DJ, teenager, gamer.

Playing TH Games for 10 years.

Twitter: @EthanNunn

YouTube channel (Main): https://www.youtube.com/spiderlaker54321
YouTube channel (Gaming): https://www.youtube.com/ENunnGaming

History of Me Playing TH Games (with commentary):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CjYGbHghRE
_ENunn_
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:21 am
Location: Providence, KY, USA
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby _ENunn_ » Wed Apr 20, 2016 6:08 pm

Bump. Not sure if anyone saw the edit above. It didn't really work too well with the Korean version. Everything 3d is huge and the game closes when I open a level.
ENunn: Tony Hawk player, YouTuber, singer (kinda), actor (kinda), Fake Radio DJ, teenager, gamer.

Playing TH Games for 10 years.

Twitter: @EthanNunn

YouTube channel (Main): https://www.youtube.com/spiderlaker54321
YouTube channel (Gaming): https://www.youtube.com/ENunnGaming

History of Me Playing TH Games (with commentary):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CjYGbHghRE
Demo
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby Demo » Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:33 am

v1 comment:
didn't test on finkl and french exe, those probably won't work.
_ENunn_
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:21 am
Location: Providence, KY, USA
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby _ENunn_ » Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:39 am

Demo wrote:v1 comment:
didn't test on finkl and french exe, those probably won't work.


Well then again I tried running the original us version and it closed when it launched :/
ENunn: Tony Hawk player, YouTuber, singer (kinda), actor (kinda), Fake Radio DJ, teenager, gamer.

Playing TH Games for 10 years.

Twitter: @EthanNunn

YouTube channel (Main): https://www.youtube.com/spiderlaker54321
YouTube channel (Gaming): https://www.youtube.com/ENunnGaming

History of Me Playing TH Games (with commentary):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CjYGbHghRE
Demo
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby Demo » Thu Apr 21, 2016 5:12 pm

_ENunn_ wrote:
Demo wrote:v1 comment:
didn't test on finkl and french exe, those probably won't work.


Well then again I tried running the original us version and it closed when it launched :/


read dicussion with bailey in the video's comments section, if that helps.
so the situation is it worked and then bam! doesnt work anymore?
_ENunn_
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:21 am
Location: Providence, KY, USA
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby _ENunn_ » Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:33 pm

Demo wrote:so the situation is it worked and then bam! doesnt work anymore?


Yep. lol
ENunn: Tony Hawk player, YouTuber, singer (kinda), actor (kinda), Fake Radio DJ, teenager, gamer.

Playing TH Games for 10 years.

Twitter: @EthanNunn

YouTube channel (Main): https://www.youtube.com/spiderlaker54321
YouTube channel (Gaming): https://www.youtube.com/ENunnGaming

History of Me Playing TH Games (with commentary):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CjYGbHghRE
Catar4x
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby Catar4x » Wed Apr 27, 2016 6:30 pm

Good job Demo!

I can run the v1 but the v2 is literraly unpossible!

V1/V2 difference (Windows 10) :
- V1 runs a new window and I choose THPS2 then Button (it works, i have the game with a fucked up fov)
- V2 auto-close when I try to launch it, i can't run the program in the background sadly (admin rights)

By the way, i just discovered that the french version is much more buggy on modern windows than the usa version.
Last edited by Catar4x on Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Demo
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby Demo » Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:04 pm

does it work without patch? just in case.

you don't have to change anything on launch.bat since it's just a script to run game and patch at the same time. you'll have to apply admin rights on patch.exe and compativility on thawk2.exe if needed. in bat file try to reverse the lines so you launch patch first. it's just a text file, that you can edit.

the difference is due to v1 needed to reside in your memory, if you'd close it, aspect ratio would mess up. v2 patches stuff once at the launch and closes, so you only have your game running. settings are in options.ini.
Catar4x
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [THPS2][PC] Patching stuff WIP

Postby Catar4x » Wed Apr 27, 2016 7:17 pm

Working without the patch yes.

That's the problem, i can run launch.bat as admin, but patch.exe : this is unpossible to apply admin rights to it by default, the option is not available.
That's probably why i can't use properly the patch v2.

Take a look :
Image

Return to “Other THPS games modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest