THAW Game Launcher

Discuss modding in thaw. If you want to make something by yourself you can ask how to in here. Also, you can post any thaw related mod in here.
frost
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:02 am
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby frost » Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:50 pm

could this launcher perhaps be updated to fix the openspy bug? I'm testing stuff out with it and it overwrites my themod exe with an original thaw one and that won't let me connect to openspy, i got the openspy.org domain back last night so I'd love to get this fixed to release a new 3 click, hit me up :D
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:20 am

frost wrote:could this launcher perhaps be updated to fix the openspy bug? I'm testing stuff out with it and it overwrites my themod exe with an original thaw one and that won't let me connect to openspy, i got the openspy.org domain back last night so I'd love to get this fixed to release a new 3 click, hit me up :D

As you already know 1.0.0.5 is on the way. This is for all others reading.
Technically it isn't a bug, it's a feature of the tool before openspy was around. Therefore, the tool is actually functioning properly. The new version future proofs this feature.
Once "Online game play provided by OpenSpy" has been selected you cannot deselect the option from within the tool.
The tool patches the exe based on the server type variable; 0 = default gamespy, 1 = openspy, and 2 = no patch is performed.
The patching is done at the same time file version validation is performed which will allow the tool to act as a standalone server patch, you'll just need to set the value via registry if server type = 1 and you want to patch default server or in the event openspy no longer serves us you can set to 2 and wait for someone else to provide a similar service.

The new version DOES NOT overwrite the prefix value when restoring or overwrite width / height values for medium resolution when restoring or overwrite focus / camera toggle functions on restore
The new version DOES read all of these values from the exe. If resolution isn't default values and use custom resolution is selected we use these values.
Default button functions aren't written on patch and play unless certain variables are true.
With this being said and the nature of this tool being a generic launcher it will not do specifics for certain mods, e.g. TheMod.

If the english version of an exe is being used then it will load ??_e.pak/??_e.pab, all other exes load the files without "_e".
This could very well be the issue some of you are having while trying to run TheMod. CAS_Common_e is also used, renaming these files or making two versions will correct this issue.
TheMod uses a camera toggle quick chat so if for some reason you're using the exe supplied with TheMod and your quick chat stops working...
from the launcher select "use custom controls" then select "setup controls" button. Under "camera toggle key control" select "quick chat" and select ok.
make sure tm is the prefix and that the pak exist for the exe you're using.

Other features include...
mad.bik ad-server patch
movie directory patch to allow no intro's
Hotkey fixes, To kill the THAW process it's now ( Alt+F4 ) instead of the old method of Ctrl+X. Additionally I added a minimize hotkey ( Alt+F5 ).
The hotkeys will only work if THAW is running and is the focused window.

If anyone has any questions or suggestions, post something below.
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
_ENunn_
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:21 am
Location: Providence, KY, USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby _ENunn_ » Sun Apr 27, 2014 1:18 am

Says
"Current Version: 'THAW.exe' executable file was not found"

Help?
ENunn: Tony Hawk player, YouTuber, singer (kinda), actor (kinda), Fake Radio DJ, teenager, gamer.

Playing TH Games for 10 years.

Twitter: @EthanNunn

YouTube channel (Main): https://www.youtube.com/spiderlaker54321
YouTube channel (Gaming): https://www.youtube.com/ENunnGaming

History of Me Playing TH Games (with commentary):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CjYGbHghRE
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Sun Apr 27, 2014 5:08 am

_ENunn_ wrote:Says
"Current Version: 'THAW.exe' executable file was not found"

Help?

click the search button "..." and locate it, the launcher needs to be in the game directory
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
_ENunn_
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:21 am
Location: Providence, KY, USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby _ENunn_ » Sun Apr 27, 2014 7:01 am

WhoElseButMe wrote:
_ENunn_ wrote:Says
"Current Version: 'THAW.exe' executable file was not found"

Help?

click the search button "..." and locate it, the launcher needs to be in the game directory


It is actually. :| Weird.
ENunn: Tony Hawk player, YouTuber, singer (kinda), actor (kinda), Fake Radio DJ, teenager, gamer.

Playing TH Games for 10 years.

Twitter: @EthanNunn

YouTube channel (Main): https://www.youtube.com/spiderlaker54321
YouTube channel (Gaming): https://www.youtube.com/ENunnGaming

History of Me Playing TH Games (with commentary):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CjYGbHghRE
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Thu May 29, 2014 2:21 am

then
WhoElseButMe (y) wrote:click the search button "..." and locate it (the game exe)
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
doctorbarber
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby doctorbarber » Sun Jun 15, 2014 7:48 pm

The links seem to be dead. Any way you can upload these to MEGA or something?
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Mon Jun 16, 2014 12:21 am

doctorbarber wrote:The links seem to be dead. Any way you can upload these to MEGA or something?

I think they we're hosted on my dropbox account and moved to my copy account. Links will be fixed later today.
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
_ENunn_
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:21 am
Location: Providence, KY, USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby _ENunn_ » Thu Jun 26, 2014 4:43 am

WhoElseButMe wrote:then
WhoElseButMe (y) wrote:click the search button "..." and locate it (the game exe)


I did that before. It didn't work.

Now I got it to work now. I think my problem was that I had an Openspy crack for the game. I reinstalled the game, and it works.

So, this won't work with the Openspy crack.
ENunn: Tony Hawk player, YouTuber, singer (kinda), actor (kinda), Fake Radio DJ, teenager, gamer.

Playing TH Games for 10 years.

Twitter: @EthanNunn

YouTube channel (Main): https://www.youtube.com/spiderlaker54321
YouTube channel (Gaming): https://www.youtube.com/ENunnGaming

History of Me Playing TH Games (with commentary):
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CjYGbHghRE
Milko
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:56 am
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby Milko » Fri Jul 04, 2014 10:59 am

Sorry for bothering, but I've got a problem.
I installed 1.0.5 version to thaw (THEMOD version), but when I try starting the launcher, a window pops up, saying "Error executing program! (5)"
I'm using Windows XP. There any solution for this?
ZurePitchmen83
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby ZurePitchmen83 » Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:33 am

I'm also having an issue with getting this to work on Windows XP SP3, I get the "not a valid win32 application" error, Did you make this with Visual Studio 2012 with default settings or something? I already have .NET Framework 4.0 installed (Since it was required to use LevelMod v4.1) so that could be why it doesn't work on XP.

BTW I'm trying to use Launcher version 1.0.0.5 with the THAW 3 Click Installer 1.0 ripped version.
THPS4 Level Expansion Pack, THUG2 710 Mod 1.0
Modding and Model ripping since 2009
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1357
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:28 am

I dont use vs 2012 try harder troll
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
JaneSullivan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 8:23 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby JaneSullivan » Sun Apr 26, 2015 5:41 pm

I’ve got a fresh install of THAW (US) and applied patch 1.01 and copied over the reloaded THAW.exe.

Afterwards I’ve copied all the files from the mod 0.1 to the corresponding (sub) directories (overwritten cas_common_e.pak.wpc and levelselect.pak.wpc).

Finally I’ve put the most recent THAWLauncher.exe to “C:\Programme\Aspyr Media, Inc\THAW\Game” and tm_e.pab.wpc + tm_e.pak.wpc + qb_e.pab.wpc + qb_e.pak.wpc to “C:\Programme\Aspyr Media, Inc\THAW\Game\data\pak” (overwritten to old ones).

Unfortunately there’s always an “not a valid win 32 application”-error when I try to execute the THAWLauncher.exe

OS: XP SP3

Please help :cry: :/ :help
Catar4x
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby Catar4x » Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:00 pm

For win 32 error, set compatibilty mode to windows 7
JaneSullivan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 8:23 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby JaneSullivan » Mon Apr 27, 2015 7:22 pm

But I play THAW on Windows XP SP3 32bit :/

Return to “THAW modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest