THAW Game Launcher

Discuss modding in thaw. If you want to make something by yourself you can ask how to in here. Also, you can post any thaw related mod in here.
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Wed Jun 02, 2010 7:29 am

Game: Tony Hawk's American Wasteland
Mod Type: Game Launcher / Patcher
Created by: %.gone.
Supplied Files: THAW Launcher.exe
THAW Launcher 1.0.0.3 mirror
THAW Launcher 1.0.0.4 mirror
THAW Launcher 1.0.0.5 mirror
Standard 1.01 pak/pab mirror
The Mod 1.01 pak/pab mirror
If you're using the German or polish exe rename both the pak and the pab to remove the '_e' from their names.

Place THAW Launcher.exe inside THAW\Game directory
create a shortcut to it on the desktop if you want.

Tested on Windows XP Pro, Windows 7.
Allows the user extra options before loading the game.

Features:
    * Load any THAW.exe - simply type in a name of an exe located in the thaw/game/ directory currently works with Reloaded English or German version and both Aspyr 1.00 and 1.01 exes
    * Load any pak/pab pair by typing in the proper pak/pab prefix - example: THE Mod = tm, Graffiti MoD = gm, No Name mod = nn, default = qb
    * Online Server selector - select whether to use the default GameSpy server or CHC's server
    * Custom Screen Resolution - patches the 800 x 600 resolution value, sets the registry value accordingly if "use custom resolution" is selected, stores your current resolution value to be set back on restore.
    * NOP CAS/CAP checksums - allows the use of manually edited parks and skaters (not available for Aspyr exes)
    * Allow unlimited text
    * Unlock Collectors Edition - since the levels aren't in the PC version this only unlocks 2 skaters and the concept art viewer that can be found inside Main Menu/Options
    * Windowed Mode - writes a value to the registry to allow THAW to be played in windowed mode, removes it on restore
Version 1.0.0.4
    * Removed support for Aspyr exes, still recognizes the exes just doesn't allow you to patch them.
    * Added support for the polish exe.
    * Checks exe compatibility as you type in the "Game .exe" edit box or you can use the new search feature.
    * The launcher can be run from any location, however, each time you run the app you'll need to search for the exe also the search location defaults to the launchers current directory so it's advised that you place the launcher in the game directory.
    * Added some original launcher features (see screen-shot)
    * Added keyboard binding - enter and kp enter can't be separated. In order to set "kp enter" to a control you'll need to press the "backspace" key. (backspace has a null value when using Aspyr's launcher)
    * Added custom control functions - you can set either the focus key or the camera key or both to do 1 of 3 functions
    1) default - performs the default action
    2) quick chat - can only be set to one control, allows you to call the on screen keyboard
    3) user defined - allows you to type a function name to be called on for example: create_pause_menu
    * Added process kill to the launcher - sometimes Alt + F4 doesn't act how you want it especially if the game crashes. The hotkey to kill THAW = Ctrl + x
Version 1.0.0.5
    * Patches for OpenSpy.net support. Doesn't revert the changes on restore. Can be overridden if openspy ever goes down.
    * Reads some values from the exe such as game prefix and resolution width and height. Doesn't revert these settings on restore.
    * Added Keyboard shortcuts; Alt+F4 is now process kill and will always work even while loading or during a crash and Alt+F5 will minimize the game.
    * The keyboard shortcuts will only work if the game is open and focused.
    * I was going to have the launcher patch the pak/pabs for you, but Ive been busy doing other stuff, forgive me.
    * Instead I supply paks with modifications. If you want the script and details on how to add these modifications to another pak/pab just ask.
      - Boned ollies on/off
      - Bertslides on/off
      - Quick chat in online server / camera toggle offline, has a value in the script to manually override. No need to patch the exe for quick chat.
      - Change camera angle added to game options menu
      - No intro movies, has a value in the script to manually override
      - Screen mode selection change between standard and wide screen added to game options menu
      - Toggle boneless trick, this changes your skaters boneless trick between: boneless, fastplant, beanplant, or MikeVPlant can be saved to your skater.
      - Added Mike V Boneless as a boneless trick, if you set your boneless trick to mikev boneless your boneless trick will only display properly when used with this mod.
      - You can see when others are riding a bike online with animations. Unfortunately I was unable to get the bike to display too so there isn't a bike model.

Stores all values via registry to make future uses faster.
This app will run in the background while you play the game, uses less than 1MB memory while minimized
when the app is closed the exe is restored to default.

THAW Launcher 1.0.0.3 mirror
THAW Launcher 1.0.0.4 mirror
THAW Launcher 1.0.0.5 mirror
Standard 1.01 pak/pab mirror
The Mod 1.01 pak/pab mirror
If you're using the German or polish exe rename both the pak and the pab to remove the '_e' from their names.

Thanks to KaMeR for uploading the polish exe, CHC for supplying his THPS Kill source which I used as a reference, Frost for the icon.
EDIT: updated application
EDIT: updated application again
EDIT: fixed links
Attachments
THAWLauncher_1.0.0.5.zip
(189.2 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
seven_the_mod.zip
(1.21 MiB) Downloaded 21 times
seven_standard.zip
(1.21 MiB) Downloaded 14 times
Last edited by WhoElseButMe on Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:23 am, edited 8 times in total.
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
Active
Posts: 510
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:07 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby Active » Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:32 am

Tested by A.K. *
:D
works fine now bro ;)
Eraser
Site Admin
Posts: 900
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:42 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby Eraser » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:17 am

Everything works very nice except when I select CHC's server and go to the west coast lobby I still see the same server names. Should it be like that?

I like that it's so easy to switch resolutions, even to widescreen.

Tested on Windows 7 Ultimate

Added it to the main site modding page.
kõvanikumees
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby kõvanikumees » Wed Jun 02, 2010 12:07 pm

gj, now can record widescreen videos :)
workind in win7 sp1
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Wed Jun 02, 2010 4:28 pm

@Eraser,
you can still play with those using the default sever, only the actual server you connect to has changed.
it's not a segregation option, it just allows you to not be crashed by a scrip kiddie.

glad to hear its running smoothly on systems other than XP.
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
KaMeR
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 9:53 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby KaMeR » Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:26 am

Eraser wrote:Everything works very nice except when I select CHC's server and go to the west coast lobby I still see the same server names. Should it be like that?

I like that it's so easy to switch resolutions, even to widescreen.

Tested on Windows 7 Ultimate

Added it to the main site modding page.



it changes lobby channel not server list.
rainDOC
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 4:20 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby rainDOC » Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:12 pm

An error appeared when i click patch and play :


what i make false?
Edit: Nothing happend^^
Eraser
Site Admin
Posts: 900
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:42 pm
Location: Lithuania
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby Eraser » Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:14 pm

rainDOC wrote:An error appeared when i click patch and play :


what i make false?
Edit: Nothing happend^^


What did error say?
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Fri Jun 04, 2010 6:04 pm

@rainDOC,
more information is needed in order to address this issue you're having.
Such as what exe are you using? What operating system are you using? Was their even an error message?
I didn't completely implement error code, i gave the application error handling but didn't add a message to all possible error locations in the code (only some non fatal error locations are missing messages), sorry for that. if no message was displayed and it simply crashed the program, where is THAW installed? (shouldn't be an issue but you never know) and when people post "an error occurred" and don't give me much room to work with I can only assume the worst.
But I'm sure it says "Unknown .exe type!" which means the exe you're trying to use is unsupported. If this is the case, you could upload the exe and I would add support for it in a future release.
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
cWalker
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby cWalker » Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:54 pm

ok now here comes pretty weird stuff on my pc.
if i use widescreen on fullscreen it is bugged and its like its showing 4:3 and the rest of the wide picture is over the dge of the screen.

means: i only see the left half of the 16:9 picture.
i play on 856 x 480
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:17 pm

cWalker wrote:ok now here comes pretty weird stuff on my pc.
if i use widescreen on fullscreen it is bugged and its like its showing 4:3 and the rest of the wide picture is over the dge of the screen.

means: i only see the left half of the 16:9 picture.
i play on 856 x 480

were you using windowed mode?
because this isn't a fancy windowed mode its just whatever they left behind.
And if you mean you're using the "in game wide screen" option with this launcher then that is advised against as we aren't sure exactly what is being changed behind the scenes. Still need more info.
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
cWalker
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:23 pm
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby cWalker » Sun Jun 27, 2010 2:38 am

anyways the adjust gamma replace works fine tho
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:49 am

@cwalker,
By not explaining what settings you had setup or whats actually happening you prevent anything from being done you sound like rainDOC who never posted back. Thanks for such great input.
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
WhoElseButMe
Posts: 1367
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 12:50 am
Location: FL - USA
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby WhoElseButMe » Fri Aug 06, 2010 8:16 am

Updated the launcher to version 1.0.0.4, view first post
Image
WhoElseButMe on Nov 26, 2009 wrote:It's that lack of respect amongst their peers and ignorance towards modding etiquette that keeps us who know this stuff well, from spreading it like wild fire. We do still enjoy playing the game and if you need to cheat to play a game PLAY SOMETHING ELSE YOU DON'T SUCK AT.
c0nn0r
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:44 am
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: THAW Game Launcher

Postby c0nn0r » Wed Dec 29, 2010 1:59 am

I put it in the thaw/game/directory but it won't let me click patch and play.
Image
DID SOMEONE SAY CHEATING?!?!?!

Return to “THAW modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests